Goals

My Promises For 2017

2017-heart

In keeping with my Goals for 2017, I’m sharing my promises for 2017. Usually, these are called ‘resolutions’ but in my opinion the phrase New Year’s Resolutions is far too rigid or reserved for goals we all know we aren’t going to achieve. So I renamed my New Year’s Resolutions to ‘My New Year’s Promises’ which sounds much nicer to me than the previous.

For 2016 my promises included, loving myself more, having more bubble baths and reigning in a bad habit I’d developed from my university time which was over eating and to hell with my diabetes.

Did I keep these promises? Yes. Looking back I can see I’ve done things for me, to look after myself and I’ve put in place things that are there to ensure I don’t slip backwards. I make a point of checking in with myself especially when I’m under stress or my anxiety is kicking up a storm in my mind and I’m not sure why.

For the coming year, I want to stay in the same area with these promises to myself. For 2017 I’m determined to meet my goals (already posted here) and to introduce new themes and behaviours into my life.

First of all, I’d like to consciously leave my dead relationship in 2016. Yes, I’m still healing and rebounding like you wouldn’t believe but I don’t want to carry a broken and dead relationship into a new year when I’m being given the ultimate chance at a new start. It was 6 years, mostly happy but holding onto those memories won’t bring anything good into my life, so it’s a good time to let go of what was and move forward.

Another promise to myself is to incorporate some new healthy habits into my life. While I currently practice eating consciously or intuitively, I’d like to bring in some exercise that isn’t walking that insane brown ball of energy that I spam my Instagram followers with. I’m going to try various new things when it comes to exercise, such as daily yoga practice, swimming or simply walking but further than the 1 hour of ball throwing and navigating mud puddles, tree roots and piles of dog mess lazy owners haven’t cleared up.

The final promise I’m making to myself is to bring in more structure into my life. I’m the first to admit I’m a pretty easy going, ‘let it happen as it happens’ kind of woman. However, given a deadline, an appointment to be at X by etc. I’m 110% doing everything I can to hit that target. You could say it’s a perk of my anxiety. I’m going to regulate my sleep cycle better, pin down times or appointments with myself to do something on the day I’m going to do it. No rescheduling or putting it off for something less taxing.

I think 2017 is going to be an amazing year in many ways, it’s the first year in a long time when I have no idea what could be around the corner. I have no concrete plans for my time, no things already expected to happen. It’s an entirely new start and I’m unbelievably excited to see what life has in store for me.

Bring it, 2017 I’m ready!

Emma x

Leave a Reply

